Another new blogger on the block

18 04 2007

All right, so I’m not ‘new’ as such, but this is my first completely public-facing blog, so I suspect that counts for something. My name is Letha, and I’m a 36 year old single mother of two, and like a lot of people out there, I never expected to be in this situation.

I don’t like kids, actually. Or, to be more precise, I don’t like other people’s kids. I like mine just fine, but I’m not one of those mommies who coos over everyone else’s precious widdle baby angels. To be completely honest? The whole mom thing makes me a little queasy. I loathe sentimentality and mushy-headed nonsense, and nothing will make me rage-filled faster than listening to a bunch of vaporous idiots making assumptions.

The next logical question, of course, is ‘so why start a blog about parenting?’. Simple – I know there are people out there like me. People who want to raise ferocious, rebellious, alive children, who see their kids as human beings in their own right, who are trying their damndest to navigate the corporate, divorced-from-reality world with their kids with some measure of grace and peace. I know there are people out there who look at this hollow, shallow, syrupy, horrifying world and then look at their kids and despair for their future. I know that you’re out there, and I have a few ideas.

Not answers, of course. But ideas. The BS-ification of our existence has crept in everywhere: food, school, entertainment. You name it, and I’ll guarantee there’s a lot of idiots out there hellbent on fucking it up for everyone. It can be as simple as ‘how do I get my kid to want something other than McDonald’s?’ or as complex as ‘how do I talk to my daughter about sex?’. Or, my personal favorite, ‘how do I raise kids in these United States of America in 2007 in a minority religion?’.

Let’s see if we can figure it out.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 05 2007
Kitty

I saw your comment about Austin schools at Feministe and wanted to convey my complete and total sympathy. I live in Austin as well, and I have two sons, ages 8 (he’ll be 9 in two weeks) and 5. My older son is in the 3rd grade at Mills, in Oak Hill, and he does THREE HOURS of homework each night. At least he did, until that bane of modern parents, the TAKS test, was over. I remember how godawful the first grade was, too, especially the sentences part of the homework. I didn’t have homework at all until the 3rd grade, and then it was something like 30 minutes per night.

On the food thing, both my boys are excellent eaters, but it is sometimes a challenge to get ’em to eat a full meal. I’m not nearly as good about things as you are, in that both kids think Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups constitute an entire separate food group. Still, they eat plenty of fruits and vegetables.

Our biggest problem is sleep. I’d be interested in any postings about how you get them to bed at a reasonable hour. I look forward to visiting tomorrow.

4 06 2007
DCup

Great start. I look forward to more posts!

Leave a Reply

